World Shipping Council elects new members to board of directors

The following is the text of a press release issued by the World Shipping Council:
(WASHINGTON) — At its membership meeting in Seoul last week, the World Shipping Council (WSC) membership elected Mr. Wan Min, Managing Director of COSCO Container Lines and Dr. Ottmar Gast, Chairman of the Executive Board of Hamburg Süd to two year terms on its Board of Directors, and re-elected to the Board Mr. Philip Chow of Orient Overseas Container Line (OOCL), Mr. Morten Englestoft of Maersk Line and Mr. Ulrich Kranich of Hapag-Lloyd AG.

They join Mr. Thomas Crowley, Jr., Crowley Maritime Corporation; Mr. Rafi Danieli, Zim Integrated Shipping Services; Mr. Y.M. Kim, Hanjin Shipping; Mr. Kenji Mizushima, NYK Line; and Mr. Ron Widdows, NOL on the WSC Board.

The WSC Membership also approved Mr. Widdows’ continuation as Chairman of the Board through September 2012, after he steps down from his current role as Group President and CEO of NOL later this year.

By Professional Mariner Staff