MarAd announces first Centers of Excellence for workforce training

215px Flag Of The United States Maritime Administration.svg

(WASHINGTON) — The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Maritime Administration (MarAd) announced on Wednesday the designation of 27 Centers of Excellence for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education (CoE). The CoE designation recognizes community colleges and training institutions that prepare students for careers in our nation’s maritime industry. These academic institutions are located in 16 states and one U.S. territory.

“Our collaboration with these institutions represents an important expansion of MarAd’s role in supporting maritime education and will help form pathways to good-paying American jobs in our nation’s maritime industry,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg.

215px Flag Of The United States Maritime Administration.svg

MarAd may now start working with the designated institutions to enter into cooperative agreements to help advance recruitment of students and faculty, enhance facilities, award student credit for military service, and potentially receive assistance in the form of surplus equipment or temporary use of MarAd vessels.

Authorized under the National Defense Authorization Act of 2018, the CoE program is designed to assist the maritime industry in gaining and sustaining a well-trained labor force while enhancing diversity and inclusion in the industry.

“The CoE designations recognize the high standard of maritime education and training provided by the designated community and technical colleges and maritime training centers. These institutions play vital roles in our nation’s maritime industry by providing the training and skills students need to begin and advance careers afloat and ashore,” said Acting Maritime Administrator Lucinda Lessley.

Information regarding the CoE program and the application process was disseminated through Federal Register notices. Successful applicants include accredited community colleges, technical colleges, and maritime training centers under state supervision. A searchable, interactive map is available to provide information on each CoE designee. For additional information, please visit Centers of Excellence on the MarAd website.

A complete list of Center of Excellence designees follows:


Alaska Maritime Education Consortium (AMEC) which include five universities: University of Alaska located in Fairbanks, University of Alaska Southeast at Juneau, Alaska Vocational Technical Center (AVTEC) in Seward, University of Alaska Anchorage, and University of Alaska Southeast at Ketchikan.


Mira Costa Community College District (MCCCD) in Oceanside.

Long Beach Community College District (LBCCD) in Long Beach.

Orange Coast College (OCC) in Newport Beach.


Star Center (STAR) in Dania Beach.

College of the Florida Keys (CFK) in Key West.


West Kentucky Community and Technical College (WKCTC) in Paducah.


Delgado Community College (DCC) in New Orleans.


Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) in Arnold.

MM&P Maritime Advancement, Training, Education, and Safety Program (MITAGS) in Linthicum Heights.

Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC) in Baltimore.


Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College (MGCCC) in Perkinston.

Hinds Community College (HCC) in Raymond.


Kingsborough Community College (KBCC) in Brooklyn.


Carteret Community College (CarteretCC) in Morehead City.

Cape Fear Community College (CFCC) in Wilmington.


Clatsop Community College (ClatsopCC) in Astoria.

Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) in Portland.


Delaware County Community College (DCCC) in Media.


Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) in Warwick.


San Jacinto Community College District (SJCCD) in Pasadena.


Mid-Atlantic Maritime Academy (MAMA) in Norfolk.

Tidewater Community College (TCC) in Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk and Virginia Beach.


Divers Institute of Technology (DIT) in Seattle, Flagship Maritime LLC (Flagship) in Tacoma, MM&P Maritime Advancement, Training, Education and Safety Program (MITAGS) in Seattle, and Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) in Seattle and Mount Vernon.


Northeast Wisconsin Technical College (NWTC) in Green Bay.


Guam Shipyard (GSY) in Tamuning.

By Professional Mariner Staff