Fathom names finalists for Ship Efficiency Awards

The following is the text of a news release from Fathom Maritime Intelligence:

(BERKSHIRE, United Kingdom) — Fathom has announced the finalists for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2015. The award winners will be presented at a ceremony hosted by Lloyd’s Register on Sept. 9 as part of Ship Efficiency: The Event 2015.

The Ship Efficiency Awards were launched to recognize and celebrate the organizations and individuals within the maritime sector that are excelling in efficient operations, implementing fresh thinking, offering proven efficiency benefits and advancing technological innovation.

The number of nominations that Fathom received for the 2015 awards considerably surpassed last year’s nominations total, demonstrating the growing reputation of the Ship Efficiency Awards among other maritime industry awards.

The nominations have been independently judged by a panel of highly-esteemed industry experts including Lars Robert Pedersen, BIMCO; Craig Eason, Lloyd’s List; Tristan Smith, University College London; Oskar Levander, Rolls-Royce Marine, and Roger Strevens, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics. The judging process was overseen by Katharine Palmer, Lloyd’s Register.

The shortlisted finalists for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2015 are:

The Energy Efficiency Solution Award

• ClassNK-NAPA GREEN – innovative software solution
• Corvus Energy – air-cooled and liquid-cooled lithium battery energy storage system
• Norsepower Oy – rotor sail solution
• ADM Harvest Shipping – M/V Harvest Rain
• Ulstein Design – ULSTEIN X-STERN

The Environmental Technology Award

• Hapag-Lloyd – steel floor container
• Ionada – marine membrane scrubber
• Thordon Bearings – COMPAC seawater-lubricated propeller shaft bearing
• Norled – first purely battery-driven ferry Ampere
• Blue Water Trade Winds – cargo heating management service

The Initiative of the Year

• Canadian Shipowners Association – ballast water research and technical evaluation fund
• Marstal Navigationsskole & Partners – Green Ferry Vision, e-Ferry
• The International Windship Association – industry association that promotes the use of wind propulsion in commercial shipping
• Jotun & DNV GL – cooperation agreement on hull performance
• Liberian Registry – global eco-upgrade financing program

The Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year

• Maersk Line – a license to grow responsibly
• Terntank – M/T Ternvag
• Stena Line – methanol pilot project
• ADM Harvest Shipping – M/V Harvest Rain
• Kuwait Oil Tanker Company – de-VOC system

The One to Watch

• Coldharbour Marine – ballast water management system
• Deltamarin – Delta Challenger
• Marstal Navigationsskole & Partners – Green Ferry Vision, e-Ferry
• Afthon – Lingen
• Terragon Environmental Technologies – micro auto gasification system (MAGS)

Katharine Palmer, environmental manager, Lloyd’s Register, said, “We are delighted with the level of participation and the breadth of nominations received for this year’s awards. We would like to thank all entrants for their contribution and look forward to the awards ceremony on Sept. 9.”

Catherine Austin, executive director, Fathom, said, “Once again we have been overwhelmed by the number of high calibre nominations received for the Ship Efficiency Awards. The array of shortlisted finalists represents the industry’s outstanding commitment to pushing the boundaries of ship efficiency from pioneering the development of new clean technologies, driving industry initiatives to catalyzing efficient vessel concepts from blueprint to operation.”

By Professional Mariner Staff