CSA honors 87 Crowley vessels for safety

(JACKSONVILLE, Fla.) — Eighty-seven Crowley Maritime Corp.-owned or -managed vessels recently received the Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA)’s annual Jones F. Devlin Award in recognition of their outstanding safety records in 2016. Each year, the CSA grants Devlin Award certificates to manned merchant vessels that have operated for two or more years without incurring a lost-time injury (LTI), specifically highlighting the skills and dedication of the crewmembers responsible for safe vessel operations.

Crowley’s 2016 Devlin Award-worthy vessels together have achieved an impressive 670 years of service without an LTI. Of the 87 awarded, 24 have gone without incident for 10 or more consecutive years, including the following vessels: Valdez Star, 26 years; Gus E, MV Chief, MV Guide and Roger G, each with 18 years; MV Aku, MV Veteren, MV Vigilant and Tug Nanuq, each with 17 years; and Cape Effective, with 15 years. Crowley vessels have earned Devlin Awards annually since 2005.

“CSA’s members are committed to safe operations and CSA’s involvement in safety is longstanding with our ongoing commitment to represent the industry, domestically and internationally, on safety issues encompassing every facet of ship operations,” said Kathy Metcalf, CSA president. “It is only fitting that an industry so focused on safety, publicly recognizes the skills and dedication of the women and men who have enabled these many years of safe operations and who are responsible for actions in keeping with the highest traditions of the sea – aid to those in peril.”

“Crowley is proud to be honored for the 12th consecutive year with Devlin Awards, but even prouder of our dedicated crews who live safety every day – for themselves, their families and the company,” said Crowley’s Mike Golonka, vice president, government services. “Safety is Crowley’s core value and these 87 vessels continue to embody it. Congratulations to all who have contributed to these success stories.”

Click here for a complete list of Crowley's award winners.

By Professional Mariner Staff