CMA honors Paddy Rodgers as Commodore of the Year


(STAMFORD, Conn.) — Paddy Rodgers, CEO of Euronav NV, has been named the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore for the Year for 2016.
Rodgers follows a long succession of influential maritime industry leaders as commodore. The 2016 Commodore Award will be presented on March 23 at the gala dinner marking the conclusion of the annual Connecticut Maritime Association conference and trade exposition, at the Hilton Hotel in Stamford, Conn.
The award is given each year to a person in the international maritime industry who has contributed to the growth and development of the industry.
Rodgers has been chief executive officer of Euronav since 2000. He has served on the board of directors of Euronav since June 2003 and has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2004. His perseverance, energy and articulate telling of the Euronav value story led to the successful listing of the company on the New York Stock Exchange in January. Euronav continues to have a listing on Euronext where it has been trading since December 2004.
Rodgers currently serves as a director and chairman of the International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Fund and has been a director since 2011. Rodgers began his career as a lawyer, starting practice in 1984 with Bentley, Stokes & Lowless. In 1986 he moved to Hong Kong where he worked for Robert Wang & Co and then Johnson, Stokes & Master.

Ian Workman, president of the CMA, upon making the announcement, said, "The CMA is honored to present Mr. Paddy Rodgers with the 2016 Commodore Award. We have been doing this for over 25 years now and his corporate achievements, personal efforts to communicate the best version of the industry and his past generous support of our community combines as in a perfect storm of enthusiastic support."
Former CMA commodores include Ole Skaarup, Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, George Livanos, Phil Loree, Thomas Moran, Gregory Hadjieleftheriadis, Helmut Sohmen, Gerhard Kurz, William O'Neil, Richard du Moulin, Per Heidenreich, Marc Saverys, Frank Tsao, Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Peter Georgiopoulos, C. Sean Day, Torben Jensen, Morten Arntzen, John Fredriksen, Capt. Wei Jiafu, Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, Angeliki Frangou, Oivind Lorentzen, III, Peter Evensen, Robert Bugbee and in 2015 Capt. Panagiotis Tsakos.

By Professional Mariner Staff