AAPA elects Pascagoula's Mark McAndrews as board chairman

Mark Mcandrews 17cfc1621e23142c

(ALEXANDRIA, Va.) — At its 2016 Spring Conference on April 6, the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) elected Port of Pascagoula Port Director Mark McAndrews to serve as the association’s chairman of the board for the 2016-17 activity year that begins in late October.

McAndrews is slated to be installed as chairman for a one-year term on the final day of AAPA’s 105th Annual Convention, set for Oct. 23-26 in New Orleans. He will assume the chairmanship from Port Saint John (New Brunswick) President and CEO Jim Quinn, who began his one-year AAPA term last November.

“With his vast maritime and port authority management background, Mark McAndrews is a superb choice to lead our association for the upcoming activity year,” said Kurt Nagle, AAPA’s president and chief executive officer. “Mark’s experience and leadership skills will be of enormous value as our member ports work together to address common challenges and legislative priorities.”

Although McAndrews has served as Port of Pascagoula’s port director since March 2001, his maritime career extends more than 35 years and involves public and private sector experience, including stevedoring and maritime terminal management, marine operations and public port administration.

In addition to his role as port director, he is chairman of the Gulf Ports Association of the Americas, chairman of AAPA’s Gulf Caucus, and serves on AAPA’s U.S. Legislative Policy Council and Executive Committee. Outside of AAPA, he is a member of the Mississippi Coast Foreign Trade Zone’s Executive Committee and serves on the board of directors of the Mississippi Water Resources Association and Mississippi Intermodal Council.

By Professional Mariner Staff