SNAME member Jeom Kee Paik receives William Froude Medal

V4glvbcsztnu34dy6pxulronv3iuttaj2rqp Kjgsumqznjtiwhyxim0evmts0aahfiu1kirh9yiqo9t4inedd9oos0t4wciw5zo3tcfs0 D E1 Ft

(ALEXANDRIA, Va.) — SNAME member Jeom Kee Paik, professor of ship and offshore structural mechanics at the Pusan National University, Korea, has received the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA) William Froude Medal, RINA's highest professional honor.

This award makes Paik only the third person to receive both the Froude Medal and SNAME's David W. Taylor Medal, which he received in 2013. The other two recipients of both awards were Douglas Faulkner, who received the Taylor Medal in 1991 and John B. Caldwell, who received the Taylor Medal in 1987.

Since the inception of RINA in 1860, the William Froude Medal has been presented to just 27 individuals who have made a conspicuous contribution to naval architecture or shipbuilding and whose service and personal achievements merit special recognition. Froude was known as the first to formulate reliable laws for the resistance that water offers to ships (such as the hull speed equation) and for predicting their stability.

The David Taylor Medal has been awarded for notable achievement in naval architecture and/or marine engineering since 1936. Taylor is best known for constructing the first experimental towing tank built in the United States in 1896. The David Taylor Model Basin at Carderock, part of the Naval Surface Warfare Center, was built in 1939 and is named after Taylor. Visit for more information about the Taylor Medal.

Paik is a fellow of SNAME and has served as international vice president, a member of the Technical & Research Steering Committee, several T&R panels and on the editorial board of SNAME's membership magazine (mt).

The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers offers numerous awards and medals in recognition of professional achievement. For information about SNAME awards programs, visit

By Professional Mariner Staff