Seafarers’ House honors AMO’s Paul Doell with Golden Compass Award

(FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla.) — More than 350 supporters and guests gathered at the Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina in Fort Lauderdale recently to honor Paul Doell, national president of the American Maritime Officers (AMO), the nation’s largest union of licensed seagoing professionals. Doell, who has served the organization for 47 years, was awarded Seafarers' House Golden Compass Award.

“Paul has made a lifelong commitment to maritime labor and has been a long-time supporter of Seafarers’ House. His dedication to mariners transcends AMO and is seen in the support he has provided to Seafarers’ House over the years,” said Seafarers’ House Executive Director Lesley Warrick.

The black-tie event, which included a high-energy auction during which safaris, cruises, jewelry and artwork were up for bid, raised more than $350,000. Funds raised will be used to support Seafarers’ House ongoing mission to offer refuge, resources, renewal and respect to the maritime community through multi-faith service. In addition, Seafarers’ House is amid a capital campaign to build a new Place of Welcome to serve the more than 150,000 mariners who pass through its doors each year. Groundbreaking is expected to begin later this year.

“Seafarers’ House provides a haven for mariners from around the world who often feel isolated and alone. They come to find a friendly face and warm heart to lift their spirit and we appreciate everything that they do,” said Doell.

The Seafarers' House International Golden Compass Award is given each year to those who have achieved distinction in the maritime world, those whose vocation or avocation has been the sea, or those who have ministered to or otherwise assisted seafarers. The award is in its 23rd year.

“We are grateful for all of those who made this year’s Golden Compass gala such a huge success. Without our sponsors and supporters, we would not be able to serve Port Everglades’ maritime community and the more than 150,000 mariners who come through Seafarers’ House each year,” said event co-chair Ann Burris, community relations Holland America.

Gold sponsors: American Maritime Officers (AMO); Carnival Foundation; Carnival Corp. & PLC; Cliff Berry Inc.; Resolve Marine Group Inc.; Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.; TOTE.

Silver sponsors: American Maritime Officers Service; Crowley Maritime; Holland America Line; Olympus Marine Group; Seabulk & SEACOR Island Lines.

Bronze sponsors: International Warehouse Services Inc.; National Maritime Services/National Liquidators/Watchstander; Port Everglades of Broward County; Seafarers International Union; TransMontaigne Partners L.P.

Recent past Golden Compass award recipients include: Michael Bayley, president and CEO of Royal Caribbean International; Jan Swartz, group president of Princess Cruises and Carnival Australia; artist, philanthropist and entrepreneur Dr. Guy Harvey; President and CEO of Resolve Marine Group Joseph Farrell Jr.; international seafaring hero Capt. Richard Phillips, among others.

By Professional Mariner Staff