Nominations open for NAMEPA environmental awards

The following is text of a news release from the North American Marine Environment Protection Association (NAMEPA):

(WESTON, Conn.) — NAMEPA annually recognizes companies, educators, associations, government agencies, academic institutions and individuals whose efforts support its mission to "Save Our Seas." Since its inception, NAMEPA has been engaging maritime businesses, educators, government and the public by promoting sound environmental practices and with annual awards. Previous recipients have included Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines, Maersk, APL, Teekay Corporation, the United States Coast Guard, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, National Geographic, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and others.

Entries for the 2018 NAMEPA Awards are now being accepted. The deadline for the submissions will be Aug. 20. All submissions will be reviewed by the NAMEPA board of directors and a recipient selected in each qualifying category. The winner will be notified no later than Sept. 4. This year’s NAMEPA Awards will be presented at the annual NAMEPA Awards Dinner that will be held in New York on Oct. 25. It is expected that for each category, the winner’s senior executive will be present to receive the award, as well as participate in a senior leadership roundtable discussion on corporate risk management that afternoon.
Award categories:

• Maritime Industry (to include shipowners, operators, charterers, shipyards, etc.)
• Government, Federal, State or Local Environmental Agency
• Non-Profit Environmental Entity
• Individual
• Maritime Academies, Harbor Schools, Universities
• Environmental Innovation
• Seafarers Ministry (organizations and individuals may apply) 
• Port

Click here to view award criteria. Submissions may be made electronically to Jane Seyer at For more information, call NAMEPA at (203) 255-4686 or go to

By Professional Mariner Staff