Eight Great Lakes ports earn Pacesetter Award for tonnage

The following is text of a news release from the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corp. (SLSDC):

(WASHINGTON) — The Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corp. has announced that eight U.S. ports in the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Seaway System are receiving the agency’s Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for registering increases in international cargo tonnage shipped through their ports during the 2018 navigation season.

“The strong performance in 2018 of these St. Lawrence Seaway ports is very encouraging and reflects a strong and robust economy,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao.

The eight ports earning the Pacesetter Award for 2018 are: the Duluth Seaway Port Authority (Minn.), the Erie-Western Pennsylvania Port Authority (Pa.), Port Milwaukee (Wis.), the Port of Monroe (Mich.), the Port of Muskegon (Mich.), the Ogdensburg Bridge and Port Authority (N.Y.), the Port of Oswego (N.Y.), and the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority (Ohio).

“Congratulations to the eight Great Lakes ports being recognized as Pacesetter Award recipients for their achievements during the 2018 Seaway navigation season,” said SLSDC’s Deputy Administrator Craig Middlebrook. “The 2018 season saw the highest cargo tonnage in more than a decade. With nearly 41 million tons of cargo moved last year, representing a 7 percent increase over the 2017 season, our ports are working harder than ever to handle more commerce safely and efficiently.”

The SLSDC Pacesetter Award was established in 1992 to recognize the achievements of U.S. ports whose activities resulted in increasing international tonnage shipped through the St. Lawrence Seaway, excluding Canada, in comparison to the previous year. More than 237,000 jobs and $35 billion in economic activity are supported by movement of various cargoes on the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System.

By Professional Mariner Staff