DHS extends Jones Act waiver after hurricanes

The following is the text of a news release from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS):

(WASHINGTON) — Department of Homeland Security Acting Secretary Elaine Duke on Wednesday extended the limited Jones Act Waiver initially signed on Sept. 8 at the recommendation of the Departments of Defense and Energy. Due to the severe disruptions of the oil supply system resulting from Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, the extended waiver will facilitate movement of refined petroleum products, including gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel, to be shipped from New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Arkansas to Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, and Puerto Rico. Effective immediately, this waiver applies to covered merchandise loaded on board a vessel through and including Sept. 22.     

The Jones Act prohibits the transportation of cargo between points in the U.S., either directly or via a foreign port, or for any part of the transportation, in any vessel other than a vessel that has a coastwise endorsement (e.g. a vessel that is built in and owned by persons who are citizens of the United States). The last Jones Act waiver was issued in December 2012, for petroleum products to be delivered for relief assistance in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy.

By Professional Mariner Staff