Capt. Panagiotis Tsakos named Connecticut Maritime Association's Commodore of the Year


(STAMFORD, Conn.) — Capt. Panagiotis N. Tsakos, founder of the Tsakos Group, has been named as the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore for the Year 2015.

Tsakos follows a long succession of influential maritime industry leaders as commodore. The 2015 Commodore Award will be presented on March 25, 2015 at the gala dinner marking the conclusion of the annual Connecticut Maritime Association conference and trade exposition, at the Hilton Hotel in Stamford, Conn.

The award is given each year to a person in the international maritime industry who has contributed to the growth and development of the industry. Tsakos has dedicated his life to the sea, to the welfare of the people at sea, to caring for and protecting the environment and building a successful commercial shipping company.

Ian Workman, president of the CMA, upon making the announcement, stated, “Captain Tsakos represents the finest qualities of service, creativity and commitment to our industry and the seafarers and women and men who safely manage ships and trade the world over. The CMA is honored to present Captain Tsakos with the 2015 Commodore Award. He is a leader we can all admire.”

Former CMA commodores include Ole Skaarup, Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, George Livanos, Phil Loree, Thomas Moran, Gregory Hadjieleftheriadis, Helmut Sohmen, Gerhard Kurz, William O’Neil, Richard du Moulin, Per Heidenreich, Marc Saverys, Frank Tsao, Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Peter Georgiopoulos, C. Sean Day, Torben Jensen, Morten Arntzen, John Fredriksen, Capt. Wei Jiafu, Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, Angeliki Frangou, Øivind Lorentzen III, Peter Evensen and in 2014 Robert Bugbee.

By Professional Mariner Staff